Derbyshire Bursary

This bursary is only available to those commencing studies during September 2019 and who meet all existing eligibility criteria.

Our £1,000 Derbyshire Bursary for Derbyshire residents and students from eligible schools is now open for 2019 entry.

We launched our bursary to enable more people in the county to attend higher education and develop the necessary skills to help grow the local economy.

Eligible students starting in September 2019 will receive £1,000 as a cash award, over three instalments during your first year.

How do I apply?

The bursary is available to students who live in Derbyshire or attend an eligible school or college and apply for a full-time undergraduate course with us by the UCAS deadline of 6pm on Tuesday 15 January 2019.

You do not need to make an application for the Derbyshire Bursary. Entitlement is assessed automatically.

Bursary terms and conditions

  • Abbotsholme School
  • Aldercar High School
  • Allestree Woodlands School
  • Anthony Gell School
  • Belper School and Sixth Form Centre
  • Brookfield Community School
  • Buxton and Leek College
  • Buxton Community School
  • Chellaston Academy
  • Chesterfield College
  • David Nieper Academy
  • Derby College
  • Derby Grammar School
  • Derby High School
  • Derby Manufacturing University Technical College
  • Derby Moor Community Sports College
  • Dronfield Henry Fanshawe School
  • Eckington School
  • Focus School- Long Eaton Campus
  • Friesland School
  • Glossopdale School
  • Heanor Gate Science College
  • Highfields School
  • Holbrook School For Autism
  • Hope Valley College
  • John Port School
  • Kirk Hallam Community Academy
  • Lady Manners School
  • Landau Forte College Derby
  • Lees Brook Community School
  • Littleover Community School
  • Mount St Mary's College
  • Netherthorpe School
  • New Mills School & Sixth Form
  • Noel-Baker Academy
  • Ockbrook School
  • Outwood Academy Newbold
  • Queen Elizabeth's Grammar School
  • Repton School
  • Royal School For The Deaf Derby
  • Saint Benedict Catholic Voluntary Academy
  • St Mary's Catholic High School, A Catholic Voluntary Academy
  • Swanwick Hall School
  • The Bemrose School
  • The Ecclesbourne School
  • The Long Eaton School
  • The Pingle Academy
  • The Ripley Academy
  • Trent College
  • Tupton Hall School
  • Wilsthorpe Community School

Contact us

Our friendly Student Money Advice & Rights Team (SMART) are on hand to offer more advice.

Helpline: 01332 592000 (Monday to Friday, 10am-11am and 1pm-2pm)

Student ambassadors at University of Derby open day

Book your Open Day

The best way to find out if studying at Derby is right for you is to experience an Open Day. Get a feel for the city and campus, tour our first-class facilities and see where you could be living.

View undergraduate Open Day datesView undergraduate Open Day dates