Levels of apprenticeship


The Apprenticeships that we currently offer range from educational levels 2-6. While we currently do not offer any level 7 apprenticeships, we are interested in developing these with employers.


Intermediate Apprenticeship (level 2)

An Intermediate Apprenticeship is the equivalent of five GCSEs at grade A-C. Our range of Intermediate Apprenticeships are available at our Further Education College, Buxton and Leek CollegeFind out more.


Advanced Apprenticeship (level 3)

An Advanced Apprenticeship is the equivalent of two A-levels. Our range of Advanced Apprenticeships are available at our Further Education College, Buxton and Leek CollegeFind out more here.


Higher Apprenticeships (level 4 & 5)

Higher Apprenticeships are employer-led programmes focused on developing the skills particular sectors require. A Higher apprenticeship is a work-based course which includes the award of a foundation degree or equivalent level qualification. At the University of Derby we currently offer an Assistant Practitioner Higher Apprenticeship. Find out more


Degree Apprenticeship (level 6)

Our degree apprenticeships bring together the best of higher and vocational education and provide the equivalent of a full bachelors degree.

We work with excellent local and national employers and professional bodies, including Rolls-Royce and the NHS, to deliver a qualification that provides you with both the hands-on and academic learnings you need to be successful in your chosen profession.

You will be employed throughout your apprenticeship, spending part of your time with your employer and part of your time at university. All tuition fees are covered by your employer.

Apprenticeship Courses
Why study an Apprenticeship
Apprenticeships information for Employers

Contact us

If you would like to speak to us about studying an apprenticeship at the University of Derby, you can contact us by email apprenticeships@derby.ac.uk or call us on 01332 591600.