About the IT Portfolio Office

IT Portfolio Office - Background and Objectives

The team was created in 2010, consisting of Project Managers (PM) and Business Analysts (BA), to provide the resource for discovery work in relation to IT strategic projects as well as the delivery of them. The aim whenever possible is to have a BA and a PM working together on a project, although the team has limited resources so this is not always possible. The team also includes other roles such as Project Officers.

Cross-skilling within the team has been achieved with all Business Analysts and Project Managers/Officers being Prince2 trained and holding BA qualifications. Management of Portfolios (MOP) training has enabled the team to have a focus on portfolio management rather than just programme and project management.

There are career progression opportunities within the team; practitioner, senior and principal roles exist to allow staff to develop their career. Values and behaviours are extremely important and are included in the targets for all team members.

Some areas we intend to improve on are Benefits Realisation and Stakeholder Management as well as reviewing and improving our Project Management and Business Analysis frameworks and project reporting

For more information about the IT Portfolio Office, email us at: itpo@derby.ac.uk.

ITPO Team Structure

NameRoleContact
Ruth Allen IT Portfolio Office Manager R.Allen@derby.ac.uk
Chrissie Felthouse Senior Project Manager C.Felthouse@derby.ac.uk
Jacqueline Allison Senior Business Analyst J.A.Allison@derby.ac.uk
Kim Pearson Senior Business Analyst K.Pearson@derby.ac.uk
Su Taylor Project Manager S.Taylor3@derby.ac.uk
Becca de Ville Project Officer B.DeVille@derby.ac.uk
Simon Tapping Project Officer S.Tapping@derby.ac.uk
Vlad Ispas Project Officer V.Ispas@derby.ac.uk