Committees

The University Research Committee has responsibility for the implementation of the University polices that relate to research ethics. The committee is expected to liaise with College Research Committees and monitor the implementation and effectiveness of University policies relating to research ethics and research governance, and to provide the final review in the case of an appeal relating to an application for ethical approval.

Responsibility for consideration of requests for ethical approval rest with College Research Ethics Committees that report to their College Research Committee.

You may also be interested in the Committee dates.

Current committees and their chairs are listed below:

Arts, Humanities and Education

Chair: Mr David McGravie
Email: D.McGravie@derby.ac.uk

Education

Chair: Debs Robinson
Email: d.robinson3@derby.ac.uk

Business, Law and Social Sciences

Business

Chair: Dr Polina Baranova
Email: P.Baranova@derby.ac.uk

Law, Humanities and Social Sciences

Chair: Robert Hudson
Email: r.c.hudson@derby.ac.uk

Life and Natural Sciences

Natural Sciences

Chair: Dr Richard Pope
Email: R.J.Pope@derby.ac.uk

Human Sciences

Chair: Dr Edward Stupple

Email: E.J.N.Stupple@derby.ac.uk

Human Sciences research ethics application guide

Engineering and Technology

Chair: Professor Fatih Kurugollu
Email: F.Kurugollu@derby.ac.uk

Health and Social Care

Chair: Lorraine Henshaw
Email: l.henshaw@derby.ac.uk

University of Derby Online Learning (UDOL)

Chair: Yasuhiro Kotera
Email: y.kotera@derby.ac.uk

The members of a College Research Ethics Committee adhere to a Statement of Confidentiality.