Inclusion and Special Educational Needs Research Cluster

What we do

Inclusion and social justice for all is an area of central importance to the Institute of Education. As a team we have particular expertise in removing barriers for those described as having special educational needs and disabilities (SEND). Through a commitment to cross-college working, we also have a strong interest in including those seeking sanctuary and refuge in the UK.

We pursue research and development work with a wide range of partners, including the Department for Education (DfE), a number of Local Authorities including health professionals, the national association of special educational needs (nasen), The Careers & Enterprise Company, the SENAD Group, the Supreme Education Council in Qatar, a range of teaching schools and alliances, disability artists, and professionals from local colleges and schools.

This research and development aims to:

  1. Work collaboratively in pursuit of more inclusive and socially just outcomes for children and young people
  2. Design, promote, and deliver professional development events that enhance the confidence, skill, and reflective capacities of practitioners to work in inclusive ways;
  3. Enhance the understanding of others regarding inclusive practice
  4. Offer a critical perspective on policy and practice
  5. Present results in ways that might challenge and inform policy

Research with us

We supervise doctoral students researching topics related to inclusion and special educational needs. We are interested in discussing further proposals in this area.

Contact Dr Geraldene Codina at g.codina@derby.ac.uk

Meet the team

Andy Bloor A.Bloor@derby.ac.uk

Chris Bristow C.Bristow@derby.ac.uk

Dr Geraldene Codina g.codina@derby.ac.uk

Trevor Cotterill T.Cotterill@derby.ac.uk

Dr Sarah Charles S.Charles@derby.ac.uk

Dr Eleni Dimitrellou E.Dimitrellou@derby.ac.uk

Dr Jill Hanson J.Hanson@derby.ac.uk

Professor Brian Lamb (Visiting Professor)

Dominic Petronzi D.Petronzi@derby.ac.uk

Sarah Roeschlaub S.Roeschlaub@derby.ac.uk

Judith Szenasi J.Szenasi@derby.ac.uk

Julia Trickey J.Trickey@derby.ac.uk

Dana Abu Omar (PhD student), title: Can we end the dyslexia debate? (Director of Studies: Dr Geraldene Codina, Second Supervisor: Dr Sean Broom)

Konstantina Anastasiou (PhD student), title: Teachers’ lived experience of including children with Autism (Director of Studies: Dr Geraldene Codina, Second Supervisor: Prof. Dawn Forman)

Wendy Conrad (EdD student), title: Supporting the emotional health and wellbeing of learning-disabled learners in the mainstream secondary classroom (Director of Studies: Dr Geraldene Codina, Second Supervisor: Dr Sarah Charles)

Kim Smith (EdD student), title: Using research circles to investigate a multi-sensory physical intervention aimed to develop the manual signing of children who use Makaton (Director of Studies: Dr Geraldene Codina, Second Supervisor: Dr Sarah Charles)

Research-informed teaching

The Institute of Education runs a number of courses which are shaped and informed by the work of this research cluster.