Honorary awards list announced by University of Derby

Four notable people with connections to Derby will receive honorary awards at the University of Derby’s Award Ceremonies in November.

Former Foreign Secretary, Dame Margaret Beckett; the 12th Duke of Devonshire, Peregrine Cavendish; former Chancellor of the Exchequer, Kenneth Clarke; and Chief Executive of publishers Faber & Faber, Stephen Page, will receive their awards alongside the University’s graduating students.

Thousands of students, guests and VIPs are expected to attend the University’s Award Ceremonies, which will take place on 23 and 24 November 2017 in Derby.

Distinguished actor Brian Blessed OBE will also receive an Honorary Doctorate at the University’s Buxton Awards Ceremony on 11 November 2017 in recognition of his work to promote conservation in the region, including the Monsal Trail in the Derbyshire Peak District.

Dame Margaret Beckett has been the Member of Parliament for Derby South since 1983. During her career in politics Dame Margaret has held the positions of President of the Board of Trade, Leader of the House of Commons, and Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs. She was the first woman to hold the post of Foreign Secretary and only the second to hold one of the Great Offices of State.

She will be awarded an Honorary Doctorate in recognition of her commitment and achievements in public service, both regionally and in the national political arena.

His Grace the Duke of Devonshire KCVO CBE DL was installed as the University’s third Chancellor in October 2008. Peregrine Cavendish is the 12th Duke of Devonshire and custodian of the Chatsworth Estate in Derbyshire. His principal duty has been to preserve and enhance Chatsworth for future generations and the region benefits enormously from the running of that estate.

He will be presented with an Honorary Doctorate in appreciation of his service to this University and in recognition of his many other public and charitable works.

Kenneth Clarke CH QC has been the Member of Parliament for Rushcliffe since 1970. As the member of the House of Commons with the longest continuous service, he is currently the Father of the House. During his political career he has held several senior ministerial offices including Secretary of State for Health, Secretary of State for Education and Science, Home Secretary, and Chancellor of the Exchequer.

The University will confer him with an Honorary Doctorate in recognition of his commitment to public service and his support for its change of status from college to university in 1992, when he was Secretary of State for Education and Science.

Stephen Page is Chief Executive of the independent publishing house Faber & Faber Ltd, one of the world’s leading literary publishers. This award-winning, modern publishing house has retained its core commitment to literary values and long-term relationships with writers. He has done much to professionalise recruitment to the publishing industry and his support for the University’s development of its MA Publishing programme has been invaluable.

In recognition of Stephen’s contribution to publishing education and the creative industries, he will be awarded an Honorary Doctorate.

Professor Kathryn Mitchell, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Derby, said: “Each one of these notable people has made an exceptional contribution in their field and in our region, and I am delighted to confer them with these honorary awards alongside our graduating students.”

For further press information please contact Alice Oliver at University of Derby on 01332 592032 or email a.oliver@derby.ac.uk.