Derby Honorands - Derby Award Ceremonies - University of Derby

Derby Honorands - November 2017


These are the honorands for our November 2017 ceremonies.

Ceremony 1: Rt Hon Kenneth Clarke CH QC MP – Honorary Doctor of the University (HonDUniv)

As the member of the House of Commons with the longest continuous service, Kenneth Clarke is currently the Father of the House. He has been the Member of Parliament for Rushcliffe since 1970. During his political career he has held several senior ministerial offices including Secretary of State for Health, Secretary of State for Education and Science, Home Secretary, and Chancellor of the Exchequer.

The University wishes to recognise his achievements in public service and in particular his support for our change of status to University in 1992, when he was Secretary of State for Education and Science.

Ceremony 2: Rt Hon Dame Margaret Beckett MP – Honorary Doctor of the University (HonDUniv)

Margaret Beckett is currently Chair of the Joint Committee for National Security Strategy and serves on the Committee on Standards in Public Life and the Labour Party’s National Executive Committee. She has been the Member of Parliament for Derby South since 1983. During her career in politics Dame Margaret has held the positions of President of the Board of Trade, Leader of the House of Commons, and Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs. She was the first woman to hold the post of Foreign Secretary and only the second to hold one of the Great Offices of State.

The University wishes to recognise her commitment and achievements in public service both regionally and on the national political arena.

Ceremony 3: Mr Stephen Page - Honorary Doctor of the University (HonDUniv)

Stephen Page is Chief Executive of the independent publishing house Faber & Faber Ltd, one of the world’s leading literary publishers. This award-winning, modern publishing house has retained its core commitment to literary values and long-term relationships with writers.

This award is given in recognition of Stephen’s contribution to publishing education and the creative industries. He has done much to professionalise recruitment to the publishing industry and his support for the University’s development of its MA publishing programme has been invaluable.

Ceremony 3: His Grace the Duke of Devonshire KCVO CBE DL - Honorary Doctor of the University

The Duke was installed as the University’s third Chancellor in October 2008.  Peregrine Cavendish is the 12th Duke of Devonshire and custodian of the Chatsworth Estate in Derbyshire.  His principal duty has been to preserve and enhance Chatsworth for future generations and the region benefits enormously from the running of that estate.

The Duke’s commitment to and support of the University during his tenure as our Chancellor has been outstanding.  He has been an invaluable friend and advocate for the University, facilitating many opportunities for our students, which have added to the richness of their learning experience.  He has taken great pleasure in presiding over the many Award Ceremonies throughout his term of office, seeing it as a privilege to share a small part in our students’ success.

This award is offered in recognition and thanks for his service to this University and also in recognition of his many other public and charitable works.