Committees - Research Ethics - University of Derby

Committees

Committee main image

The University Research Committee has responsibility for the implementation of the University polices that relate to research ethics. The committee is expected to liaise with College Research Committees and monitor the implementation and effectiveness of University policies relating to research ethics and research governance, and to provide the final review in the case of an appeal relating to an application for ethical approval.

Responsibility for consideration of requests for ethical approval rest with College Research Ethics Committees that report to their College Research Committee.

Current committees and their chairs are listed below:

 

Arts

Chair: Robert Burstow
Email: r.burstow@derby.ac.uk

 

Derby Business School

Chair: Tim Heap
Email: t.j.heap@derby.ac.uk

 

Natural Sciences

Chair: Hugh Rollinson
Email: h.rollinson@derby.ac.uk

 

Human Sciences

Chair: Dr Frankie Maratos
Email: f.maratos@derby.ac.uk

 

Education

Chair: Debs Robinson
Email: d.robinson3@derby.ac.uk

 

Engineering and Technology

Chair: Fionn Murtagh
Email: f.murtagh@derby.ac.uk

 

Health and Social Care

Chair: Lorraine Henshaw
Email: l.henshaw@derby.ac.uk

 

Law, Humanities and Social Sciences

Chair: Robert Hudson
Email: r.c.hudson@derby.ac.uk

 

University of Derby Online Learning (UDOL)

Chair: Cedric Nkiko
Email: c.nkiko@derby.ac.uk

 

The members of a College Research Ethics Committee adhere to a Statement of Confidentiality.