Long Service Grand Total of 670 Years At Staff Awards

26 January 2012

long service awards

A number of the members of staff recognised at the Staff Loyalty Awards

A group of long serving members of staff, who in total have worked for the University for over 670 years, were recognised at the annual Staff Loyalty Awards on 25 January 2012 

31 members of academic and support staff who have worked at the University for periods of 20, 30 or 40 years were celebrated during a gala lunch where they were presented with a certificate by the Vice Chancellor, Professor John Coyne, and their work and impact was shared and applauded by colleagues.

Among them was lecturer in Geology, John Stubbs, whose research interest in public transport has led him to complete train journeys from Derby to Mumbai, and recently to Iran. Dr Philip Carey, an expert in marine protozoa, who is the programme leader for Zoology, joined the University 20 years ago after a research role at the Natural History Museum. His research interest in the area continues to be world-leading.

Ruth Allen, who has worked in Information Technology Services for 20 years and nicknamed 'a Mary Poppins of a Manager' was applauded, as was the dedicated professionalism of Equality and Diversity Manager, Lesley Gyford.

Receiving special recognition for his 40 years at the University was technician David Orwin, who has continued to come up with creative ways to assist teaching in the Geographical Earth and Environmental Sciences (GEES) throughout his career.

Well represented were the Estates Team, which saw six members of staff receive long service awards: Edwards Cox, Graham Kellogg, Anthony Roberts, Stephen Taylor, Eunice Moore and Gaye Johnson.

Staff presented with awards:

40 Years - David Orwin
30 years - Ann Hill, David Clark, Julia Kay.
20 Yeats - Pat Atkin, Richard Mayer, Andrew Johnson, Edward Cox, Graham Kellogg, Anthony Roberts, Stephen Taylor, Susan Howarth, Lesley Gyford, Robert Burstow, Dennis Parkes, Kevin Watson, John Pritchard, Joe Waldron, Diane Willison, Eunice Moore, Maureen Harrison, Tin Heap, Ruth Allen, Gaye Johnson, Chas Andree Roberts, Lynda Jones, Doreen Baxter, Philip Carey, Caroline Shacklock, John Stubbs, Pamela Bates.

Use of personal data

Our policy is to only use the data you supply to us for use in regard to the work of the University of Derby. We do not pass on your data to any other third party under any circumstances.

© Copyright University of Derby 2014 | Accessibility | Privacy and cookies | Site map | Disclaimer | Freedom of Information | Company info | About us as a charity | Trademarks of the University of Derby | Staff admin