Academic Practice Programme sessions in 15/16

This programme of workshops, activities and events is available to all staff, and is designed around current strategic priorities for the University. The sessions provide the opportunity to learn more about the chosen topic, share good practice across Colleges and gain an external perspective on the subject area through the involvement of a number of external speakers.

We look forward to welcoming you to these events and continuing to work with you.

Tuesday, 06 October (9.30am - 12.30pm) Keep Calm and Take Notes Mike Bellamy
Wednesday, 7 October (3pm - 4pm) Opening and closing the loop: making feedback work Jo Drummond-Child & TEL team
Thursday, 12 October (12pm - 1pm) Sharing best practice when working with collaborative partners Jazz Kang and Carleen Osborne
Monday, 12 October (1pm - 3.30pm) Creativity in the classroom Chris Wilson
Tuesday, 13 October (10am - 12pm) Minute and Report Writing Mike Bellamy
Wednesday, 14 October (10.00am - 11.00am) Using Audio and Video for Feedback Rob Higson
Wednesday, 14 October (10.00am - 12.00pm) Exploring efficiency and efficacy in formative and summative assessment strategies David Cunningham & TEL team
Wednesday, 21 October (10.00am - 12.00pm) Course Resources Quizzes to aid formative assessment and feedback TEL Team - Ian Hallsworth-Jeeves
Monday, 26 October (1pm - 2.30pm) Enhancing practice through Peer Observation of Teaching Chris Wilson
Tuesday, 27 October (10.00am - 12.00pm) Exploring Digital Literacies Laura Hollinshead
Wednesday, 4 November (12pm - 1.30pm) Working with levels: Developing and applying assessment criteria Jill Schofield
Tuesday, 10 November (2pm - 4pm) Chairing Validation Panels Effectively  Doug Carr
Tuesday, 10 November (2pm - 4pm) Getting started in teaching at UoD   Peter Tunnicliffe and TEL
Wednesday, 11 November (12pm - 1pm) Empower your students - using CPD Jo Drummond-Child
Wednesday, 11 November (10am - 11.30am) Blackboard Collaborate - Opportunities for Mobile Learning Rob Higson
Monday, 16 November (1pm - 2.30pm) Working with professional bodies and external organisations Jill Schofield
Wednesday, 18 November (12pm - 1.30pm) Constructive alignment: Exploring the student assessment journey David Cunningham
Tuesday, 24 November (2pm - 4pm) Chairing Validation Panels Effectively Doug Carr
Monday, 30 November (12pm - 1.30pm) Developing problem-based learning Duncan Marson
Thursday, 3 December (12pm - 1pm) Exploring assessment and feedback strategies Rosemary Horry
Monday, 7 December (12pm - 1.30pm) Models of tutorial activity: student centred learning Duncan Marson
Monday, 7 December (3pm - 4.30pm) Academic career development at Derby Pamela Thomas
Wednesday, 9 December (10am - 12pm) Social media for learning and teaching - who needs it?  why use it? Johanna Westwood
Fill out my online form.

What's Happening ...

Library E-Journals Service Upgraded

Available here ...